Volume 2 – February 22, 2020

Book Talk:

I recently finished a couple of books by the author of two of our “brunch books”, Danielle Bean, so I’m going to dish on those for this issue.

  • Manual for Women – this is part of a series of “manuals” put out by TAN books, and is one of those that you don’t just read and put back on the shelf.  You will want to keep this on your nightstand to refer back to.  Danielle is the author of the Part I essay, where she writes on our feminine gifts of receptivity, sensitivity, compassion, beauty and generosity.  Part II includes Church traditions and teachings on women, scripture, prayers and even hymns.  This book seeks to remind us that “now more than ever, women need to be women” and that the world needs us to be authentic women.
  • Letting Go and Giving Thanks – this one may not be for everyone in our group in this particular season, but for those of us who are nearing the end of our “child rearing” days, I would say this one is a must read.  Danielle perfectly captured my thoughts and emotions as my children have grown and flown the nest, and she does it with her signature humor and humility.

Blogger Review:

This issue’s featured blogger is Jenny at Mama Needs Coffee.  She’s a mama to 6 kids under 10, an NFP advocate (https://www.offthechartsnfp.com/), and has even lived in Rome.  She’s also a contributor to Blessed is She and Endow. If you want to know why I like her, just read her most recent post:

She’s also done some really well researched and inciteful series on the Church’s teachings on sex and marriage.

Likes and Links:

And here is the link to Danielle’s website if you’re interested about learning more:

  • Also, Lent is upon us, and Kendra at Catholic All Year had a recent blog post on how her family “celebrates” Lent, with additional links to some good resources.  (In fact, I’m looking at buying a crown of thorns to add to my Lenten décor this year…)
  • Here’s a prayer for those of us who tend to get distracted or find ourselves wasting time:

*Throwing this link in since I’ve shared about my oldest daughter’s journey to adoption:

https://lifetimeadoption.com/family/?jonathan-amanda/

I really appreciate your prayers for them as they grow their family.

Keeping it Real: 

Selfishness and Sin

Recent mass readings, Fr. Timothy’s sermons and RCIA lessons have really resonated with me lately about the nature of sin.  Father explained that all sin comes from a root of selfishness – a failure to love.  Of us wanting something for ourselves and convincing ourselves that we “need” it or “must have” it, regardless of the consequences.  Sometimes we are even able to convince ourselves that the desire is for something good.

Rather, each person is tempted when lured and enticed by his desire.
Then desire conceives and brings forth sin,
and when sin reaches maturity it gives birth to death. 

~ James 1:14-15

When I think back on my own failures, I see this to be the truth – I sin because I desire something contrary to love, whether it is love of God or love of another person.  The “I want what I want when I want it” scenario. 

One thing I’m working on this year is “delayed gratification”, which can be hard in this “instant” world.  But I’m making myself wait instead of going for the quick fix, whether it be in spending, eating, or whatever.  And you know what I’ve found out so far?  That often by waiting, I decide that I don’t really need the thing that I thought I “had to have”.  And it’s only taken me 40+ years to figure that out. 😊

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started